Home New Age Music Updates from Kitaro

Updates from Kitaro



For Kitaro’s many fans we have a few updates; on August 26 a compilation called “Asian Café” will be released (not to be confused with Kitaro’s 2002 release with the same name). In September he will also reissue “Tenku”, marking the 30th anniversary of this album. It has been newly remastered from the original source tapes.

“Asian Café” gathers 15 tracks from Kitaro’s solo albums.  This compilation features a variety of tracks from “Thinking Of You” and “Ancient” as well as from “Dream” and “The Light Of The Spirit”.

Asian Café Track List

  • Planet
  • Linden
  • Unicorn
  • Legend Of The Road
  • Ancient Of Wind
  • Nageki
  • Fairy Of Water
  • Peace
  • The Field
  • A Drop Of Silence
  • Sumerian Magic
  • Harmony Of The Forest
  • Stream
  • Wave Of Sand
  • Moondance


“Tenku”, which translated means “Heavenly Sky”, refers to time spent at his 200-year-old farmhouse in the Japanese Alps, where the album was recorded. Drawing inspiration and his impressions of nature at that time, Kitaro remarked, “Through communicating with nature, I wish to always make music that reflects the warmth that we should have as humans.”

The album became a defining moment in Kitaro’s career, which soon afterwards became his first conceptual album that introduced him to an international audience.

For what is certainly an otherworldly experience; Tenku is a collection of dreamy compositions full of soft Japanese melodies with a hint of melancholy. Kitaro’s immaculate synthesizer technique produces a nuanced yet bold atmosphere that is truly one of a kind.

See more information on Domo Music.