Jim Ottaway – Threshold of the Universe


Australian electronic musician and composer, Jim Ottaway, has just released his new ambient album… THRESHOLD OF THE UNIVERSE.

Jim says that THRESHOLD OF THE UNIVERSE is a continuation of his series of ‘space’ ambient releases including BEYOND THE PURPLE SUN, DEEP SPACE BLUE, SOUTHERN CROSS, ORION, CENTAURI, AURORA, and LIQUID MOON.

The album is made up of nine tracks all representing aspects of a space journey to the threshold of the universe. As the album’s liner notes indicate, Jim’s goal is to take the listener on a journey through infinite space to the threshold of the universe… to see the spectacular parallel suns… to visit an alien star… to get a glimpse of the two trillion galaxies in our universe… and to see intriguing dark matter through distorted starlight, along with many other wonders of the universe.

Sample the album and find it on your favorite streaming service:
Jim explains that he compiled this album from tracks composed and recorded as early as August 2007 and completed recording and production in July 2021. The album liner notes indicate that “All tracks are live improvised studio recordings with minimal overdubs”… a recording technique, Jim says, he has used for all his ambient albums. Jim is hoping that THRESHOLD OF THE UNIVERSE will also be warmly accepted by listeners and radio programmers around the world.

Jim composes and records all his music in his home studio situated at the foothills of the beautiful Springbrook Mountain on the Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia. Each of Jim’s last eight albums… WHEN ETERNITY TOUCHES TIME, BEAUTIFUL DESOLATION, BEYOND THE PURPLE SUN, YESTERDAY PASSING, DEEP SPACE BLUE, TIMELESS e-MOTION, SOUTHERN CROSS and INVISIBLE VORTEX received nominations in world-wide music awards. In July 2021, Jim was awarded Best Electronic Album for his album WHEN ETERNITY TOUCHES TIME at the 17th Annual Zone Music Reporter Awards in New Orleans, USA. Jim was also awarded two awards at the 14th Annual Zone Music Reporter Awards in 2018 for his albums DEEP SPACE BLUE (Best Ambient Album) and TIMELESS e-MOTION (Best Electronic Album).

To find out more about Jim and his music, visit his website: www.jimottaway.com