The Dalai Lama – Inner World


The Dalai Lama is set to release his very own album on July 6th, entitled Inner World. The 11-track album will be released in connection with the spiritual leader’s 85th birthday. The Dalai Lama recites sacred mantras and teachings with accompanying music performed on more than 30 instruments.

The album was recorded over five years with Junelle Kunin, a New Zealand musician and practicing Buddhist.

Here is the first single Compassion, based on one of the most famous Buddhist prayers:

The track Compassion is available on all formats here: 

According to The Guardian: “The Tibetan spiritual leader’s first foray into the world of recorded music comes five years after he appeared at the Glastonbury music festival, where he warned of the dangers of climate change, and the American star Patti Smith sang Happy Birthday to him on stage.

Explaining his decision to make the album, which took five years to complete, the Dalai Lama said: “Music has the potential to reach many more people with the message that the real source of happiness is warm-heartedness and a concern for others. The very purpose of my life is to serve as much as I can.”

From “During a 2015 trip to India, Junelle Kunin delivered a handwritten letter to one of The Dalai Lama’s assistants, pitching His Holiness on the idea of pairing his teachings with original music. Recalling their time together in the recording studio, Junelle said The Dalai Lama “was so excited … he actually proceeded to explain to me how important music is.”

Inner World also features a guest appearance from acclaimed sitar player Anoushka Shankar (daughter of Ravi Shankar).

Inner World Track List

1. “The Buddha”
2. “One Of My Favourite Prayers”
3. “Compassion”
4. “Courage”
5. “Ama La”
6. “Healing”
7. “Wisdom”
8. “Purification”
9. “Protection”
10. “Children”
11. “Humanity”