Home Upcoming Albums New Loreena McKennitt Album in May

New Loreena McKennitt Album in May


Loreena McKennitt’s new album, “Lost Souls” – her first recording of original music since the 2006 “An Ancient Muse” – will be released internationally on Friday May 11, 2018.

Produced by the award-winning Canadian singer/composer herself, “Lost Souls” is an eclectic tapestry of songs drawn from a wide range of influences, including the Celtic and Middle Eastern with which she has long been identified. “Life has been so full and demanding these past ten years, both personally and professionally,” says McKennitt, “and we’ve been touring at such a steady pace. It’s been immensely gratifying to finally get back to the more creative part of the process.”

The nine-track album was recorded from May through October 2017 in Hamilton, Canada at Catherine North Studios and at Peter Gabriel’s Real World Studios near Bath, in South West England.

Several of the songs were initiated by McKennitt some time ago. Others have been progressively taking shape in the midst of more recent projects and journeys. A few draw on the poetry of John Keats and W.B. Yeats, while another evokes a distinct Middle Eastern flavour. In Lost Souls they all come together to create an artistically diverse and timely collection.

1. Spanish Guitars and Night Plazas
2. A Hundred Wishes
3. Ages Past, Ages Hence
4. The Ballad of the Fox Hunter
5. Manx Ayre
6. Le Belle Dame Sans Merci
7. Sun Moon and Stars
8. Breaking of the Sword
9. Lost Souls

You may pre-order the album on Loreena’s homepage.