Home Upcoming Albums Tangerine Dream 7-Album Box Set: In Search of Hades

Tangerine Dream 7-Album Box Set: In Search of Hades


On 14 June Tangerine Dream will release a 7-album box set called “In Search of Hades: The Virgin Recordings 1973 – 1979”. It is the definitive statement of this period in Tangerine Dream’s history, featuring newly remastered versions of the albums “Phaedra”, “Rubycon”, “Ricochet”, “Stratosfear”, “Encore”, “Cyclone” and “Force Majeure”, all drawn from the original first generation master tapes, and new Stereo and 5.1 Surround Sound mixes of “Phaedra” and “Ricochet” by Steven Wilson.

“In Search of Hades” includes previously unreleased material; 3 London concerts in full (Victoria Palace Theatre in 1974, The Rainbow Theatre in 1974 and Royal Albert Hall in 1975) along with the previously unreleased full soundtrack to “Oedipus Tyrannus”, recorded in July 1974 and remixed in 5.1 Surround Sound and Stereo by Steven Wilson. Also includes 2 CDs of previously unreleased outtakes from the Phaedra sessions at The Manor Studios, Oxfordshire in November 1973 and the surviving 35-minute live recording from Coventry Cathedral in October 1975.

The box set features 2 Blu-Ray discs featuring the 5.1 mixes of “Phaedra”, “Oedipus Tyrannus” and “Ricochet”, along with a 1976 German TV performance and BBC Old Grey Whistle Test broadcast of Tangerine Dream at Coventry Cathedral. The set includes hardback book featuring new liner notes and rare photographs and memorabilia.

There will also be 1 CD versions of “Phaedra”, “Rubycon”, “Ricochet”, “Stratosfear”, “Encore”, “Cyclone” and “Force Majeure”, the audio on these will be from the 2018 remasters and will feature bonus tracks from box boxset including Steven Wilson remix’s.

You may pre-order the box set here (£119.99)

While waiting, you can find Hades here 🙂